Skip to main content

The Economics Department Advisory Board (EDAB) is a group of alumni and alumnae of UNC Economics that convenes each semester to learn more about the research, teaching and service in Economics at Carolina and to advise the faculty on issues related to student development.  These advisers, both graduate program and undergraduate alums, are individuals who care passionately about their alma mater and about the students currently studying Economics at UNC.  They have proved to be a valuable asset to our department’s faculty and students as we innovate in the major to provide our students with the best possible preparation for “the real world”, whether that is finding a job, preparing for graduate school, or simply learning deeply about the economic workings of sectors of the world’s economy.

2020-2021 Economics Department Advisory Board Members


Scott F. Bass ’90
Merill Lynch
Senior Vice President, Wealth Management

Jay H. Bryson ’80, ‘89
Wells Fargo & Company
Managing Director, Chief Economist

Mark J. Buono ‘86
College of Charleston
Visiting Instructor and Director of the Carter Real Estate Center

Courtney Cavatoni ‘93

Janet L. Chess ‘88
Vice President, Strategic Partnerships

Kyle L. Clements ‘91
RBC Wealth Management
Senior Vice President, Financial Advisor

Claude E. Courbois ‘88
NASDAQ Stock Exchange
Vice President

Charles Maehugh Duncan ‘96
WestJet Airlines Ltd.
Executive Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer

Jennifer “Jennie” L. Ellison ‘89
Microsoft Corporation
Senior Business Program Manager

Matthew “Matt” M. Guest ‘97
Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Partner Corporate & Securities

Sam M. Hayes ‘94
State of North Carolina
General Counsel

George Arnett Kahn ‘78
Federal Reserve Bank
Vice President, Associate Director of Research

Kimberley “Kayce” C. King ‘86
Wells Fargo
Director of Abbot Downing

Bryan A. Morris ’83
IBM Watson Healthcare
Client Executive

Scott A. Ogle ‘97

Andrew “Andy” C. Pike ’04
Wells Fargo

Jonathan Frederick Pingle ’03
BlackRock, Inc.
Managing Director & Head of Economics for Global Fixed Income

Jason T. Rein ‘05
Wells Fargo Securities

David T. Robinson ‘92
Duke University

Nicole Wilson Rubin ’91
Impact Solutions
Founder, Principal

Ryan S. Wesslen ‘07
Bank of America
Senior Vice President & Data Scientist

Mel A. Williams ‘88
TrueBridge Capital Partners
General Partner

Samuel “Sam” A. Williamson ‘84
IBM Corporation
Managing Director

H. “Alex” Winters ‘01
North Bridge Capital
Managing Director

L“Brian” Worrell ’92
General Electric, Baker Hughes


We partner with the Arts and Sciences Foundation to coordinate the membership and activities of the Advisory Board. If you are interested in learning more about the EDAB or other ways that you can help the department, please contact Donna Gilleskie, Chair of the Economics Department, and Cassie Diltz, Director of Development for the Arts and Sciences Foundation.